Warning: mysql_real_escape_string(): No such file or directory in /nfs/c10/h06/mnt/177718/domains/humanitasprize.info/html/welcome/wp-content/plugins/easy-contact-forms/easy-contact-forms-database.php on line 152

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string(): A link to the server could not be established in /nfs/c10/h06/mnt/177718/domains/humanitasprize.info/html/welcome/wp-content/plugins/easy-contact-forms/easy-contact-forms-database.php on line 152
» Humanitas Prize

About the Humanitas Prize


What is the HUMANITAS Prize?

The HUMANITAS Prize was created in 1974 to honor film and television writers whose work explores the human condition in a nuanced, meaningful way which, ultimately, inspires compassion, hope and understanding in the human family. HUMANITAS believes film and television writers have enormous power to break down the walls of ignorance, racism and hatred which can separate us by exploring the hopes and fears of human beings who are very different in culture, race, lifestyle, political loyalties and religious beliefs to find our common humanity.

A signature HUMANITAS story challenges us to use our freedom to grow and develop, confronts us with our individual responsibility and examines the consequences of our choices. The winners receive both a trophy and a cash award. The total annual amount of the awards is $110,000 and is divided up into the following nine categories:

Feature $10,000
60 Minute Category $10,000
30 Minute Category $10,000
Children’s Live Action $10,000
Children’s Animation $10,000
Sundance Feature Film $10,000
Documentary $10,000
The Angell Comedy Fellowship $20,000
Student Drama Fellowship $10,000

How is the HUMANITAS Prize funded?

The HUMANITAS Prize is funded by an endowment established through the generosity of individuals, networks, studios and foundations.

Who are some of the past winners?  

Past winners of the HUMANITAS Prize include Wash Westmoreland and Richard Glatzer (Still Alice), John Ridley (12 Years A Slave), Damien Chazelle (Whiplash), Larry Kramer (The Normal Heart), David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook), Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station), Danny Zuker  & Christopher Lloyd (Modern Family), Denis Leary & Peter Tolan (Rescue Me), David Seilder (The King’s Speech), Eric Roth (The Insider), Paul Haggis (Crash), Steven Bochco (Hill Street Blues, NYPD Blue), David E. Kelley (The Practice, Picket Fences), Tim Robbins (Dead Man Walking), Steven Zaillian (Schindler’s List), Ben Affleck & Matt Damon (Good Will Hunting), David Shore (HOUSE), Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing), and Keir Pearson & Terry George (Hotel Rwanda).

How does one qualify?

1. To submit, there is no entry fee or limit to the number of submissions.

2. To qualify, a teleplay must have been written and produced in the English language for U.S. Television (Broadcast, Cable, Internet and Satellite.)

3. Program must have had a national release on Television (Broadcast, Cable, Internet and Satellite.)

4. A screenplay for a feature film becomes eligible in the year in which it receives a U.S. theatrical release.

5. The teleplay or film must be aired or released between August 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016.